Connect with us


Who’s Running for State Office? Read the Official List.



Elections 2018 banner
Share with friends

The California secretary of state released the official list of eligible candidates for state and federal offices. For governor, 27 hopefuls are running to succeed Gov. Jerry Brown.

That list includes 12 Democrats and five Republicans. Others are registered Green, Libertarian, Peace and Freedom or no party preference.

Politics 101

David Taub

Of the 27, seven have established themselves as mainstream candidates: Democrats Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom; State Treasurer John Chiang; former Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa (listed as Public Policy Advisor on the ballot); former state Superintendent of Education Delaine Eastin; and former Hillary Clinton staffer Amanda Renteria. For the Republicans, Assemblyman Travis Allen and businessman John Cox are the most viable candidates.

Even more crowded is the field for U.S. senator. Dianne Feinstein is running for re-election. Of her 31 challengers, the most notable is state Sen. Kevin de León. Both are Democrats.

Under California’s “jungle” primary system, the top-two vote getters, regardless of party, move on to the November general election.

A full list of all candidates can be found here.

Here’s a look state and federal races within the Valley jurisdictions:

Board of Equalization — District 1

Name Party
Tom Hallinan Democrat
Connie Conway Republican
David Evans Republican
Ted Gaines Republican


U.S. Representative — District 4

Name Party
Regina Bateson Democrat
Roza Calderon Democrat
Robert Lawton Democrat
Jessica Morse Democrat
Tom McClintock (incumbent) Republican
Mitchell White Republican


U.S. Representative — District 10

Name Party
Mike Barkley Democrat
Michael Eggman Democrat
Josh Harder Democrat
Virginia Madueno Democrat
Dotty Nygard Democrat
Jeff Denham (incumbent) Republican
Ted Howze Republican


U.S. Representative — District 16

Name Party
Jim Costa (incumbent) Democrat
Elizabeth Heng Republican


U.S. Representative — District 21

Name Party
TJ Cox Democrat
David Valadao (incumbent) Republican


U.S. Representative— District 22

Name Party
Bobby Bliatout Democrat
Rico Franco Democrat
Andrew Janz Democrat
Devin Nunes (incumbent) Republican
Billy Merryman Libertarian
Brian Carroll No party preference


U.S. Representative — District 23

Name Party
Mary Helen Barro Democrat
Tatiana Matta Democrat
Wendy Reed Democrat
Kurtis Wilson Democrat
Kevin McCarthy (incumbent) Republican
James Davis No party preference


State Senator — District 8

Name Party
Paulina Miranda Democrat
Tom Pratt Democrat
Andreas Borgeas Republican
Mark Belden No party preference

Note: Sen. Tom Berryhill is termed out.


State Senator — District 12

Name Party
Anna Caballero Democrat
Daniel Parra Democrat
Rob Poythress Republican
Johnny Tacherra Republican

Note: Sen. Anthony Cannella is termed out.


State Senator — District 14

Name Party
Melissa Hurtado Democrat
Ruben Macareno Democrat
Abigail Solis Democrat
Andy Vidak (incumbent) Republican


State Senator — District 16

Name Party
Ruth Musser-Lopez Democrat
Shannon Grove Republican
Gregory Tatum Republican

Note: Sen. Jean Fuller is termed out.


Assembly — District 23

Name Party
Aileen Rizo Democrat
Jim Patterson (incumbent) Republican


Assembly — District 26

Name Party
Jose Sigala Democrat
Warren Gubler Republican
Jack Lavers Republican
Devon Mathis (incumbent) Republican


Assembly — District 31

Name Party
Joaquin Arambula (incumbent) Democrat
Lupe Espinoza Republican


Assembly — District 32

Name Party
Rudy Salas (incumbent) Democrat
Justin Mendes Republican

Other notes:  21st District Assemblyman Adam Gray (D-Merced) is unopposed.

Curiosity drives David Taub. The award-winning journalist might be shy, but feels mighty with a recorder in his hand. He doesn't see it his job to "hold public officials accountable," but does see it to provide readers (and voters) the information needed to make intelligent choices. Taub has been honored with several writing awards from the California News Publishers Association. He's just happy to have his stories read. Joining GV Wire in 2016, Taub covers politics, government and elections, mainly in the Fresno/Clovis area. He also writes columns about local eateries (Appetite for Fresno), pro wrestling (Off the Bottom Rope), and media (Media Man). Prior to joining the online news source, Taub worked as a radio producer for KMJ and PowerTalk 96.7 in Fresno. He also worked as an assignment editor for KCOY-TV in Santa Maria, California, and KSEE-TV in Fresno. He has also worked behind the scenes for several sports broadcasts, including the NCAA basketball tournament, and the Super Bowl. When not spending time with his family, Taub loves to officially score Fresno Grizzlies games. Growing up in the San Francisco Bay Area, Taub is a die-hard Giants and 49ers fan. He graduated from the University of Michigan with dual degrees in communications and political science. Go Blue! You can contact David at 559-492-4037 or at Send an Email